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Part 1:Type of Certification 
Type of Certification 
(Check one) ☐ Initial ☐ Supplemental  ☐ 3 Year Re-certification 

Type of Manufacturer: 
(check one) ☐ Participating 

Manufacturer  ☐ Non-Participating Manufacturer 

 Part 2: Manufacturer Identification 
Company Name FEIN 

Mailing Address 

City State Zip Code Country 

Phone Fax Web Address 

Name and title of person completing this form 

   Part 3: Brand Family Certification - Fire Safe Cigarettes    (Attach Addendum pages as necessary) 

The undersigned manufacturer certifies, under penalty of perjury, as of the date of this certification, it is a cigarette 
manufacturer, and is in full compliance with the Cigarette Fire Safety Act, 425 ILCS 8/1 et al, and the Rules promulgated 
by the State Fire Marshal.  The Cigarettes included in this certification have been tested in accordance with ASTM 
standard E2187-04 and meet the performance standard specified in 425 ILCS 8/20.  In accordance with 425 ILCS 
8/30(b), attach a document listing the brand (i.e., the trade name on the package); style (e.g., green, silver); length in 
millimeters; circumference in millimeters; flavor (e.g., menthol) if applicable; filter or non-filter; and package description 
(e.g., soft pack, box) for each cigarette listed in this certification. 

Brand Family 
Brand family is currently listed 

on the Illinois directory or 
pending approval (check one) 

Brand Family 
Brand family is currently listed 

on the Illinois directory or 
pending approval (check one) 

 
☐ Currently Listed 
☐ Pending Approval  

☐ Currently Listed 
☐ Pending Approval 

 
☐ Currently Listed 
☐ Pending Approval  

☐ Currently Listed 
☐ Pending Approval 

 
☐ Currently Listed 
☐ Pending Approval  

☐ Currently Listed 
☐ Pending Approval 

 
☐ Currently Listed 
☐ Pending Approval  

☐ Currently Listed 
☐ Pending Approval 

 
☐ Currently Listed 
☐ Pending Approval  

☐ Currently Listed 
☐ Pending Approval 

 
☐ Currently Listed 
☐ Pending Approval  

☐ Currently Listed 
☐ Pending Approval 

 
☐ Currently Listed 
☐ Pending Approval  

☐ Currently Listed 
☐ Pending Approval 

 
☐ Currently Listed 
☐ Pending Approval  

☐ Currently Listed 
☐ Pending Approval 
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Part 4: Test Method 

The cigarettes included in this certification have been tested using the following method (check one) and the test results 
are attached.  Test results for each brand style listed for certification or re-certification must be the most recent test 
results dated within 3 years prior to the date of submittal of the FS-1 and the actual test results for each brand style.    
The manufacturer certifies that the test results submitted are the most recent test results for each brand family prior to 
the submitted date.  The manufacturer also certifies it will retain the testing data for a minimum of 3 years and will provide 
the data to the State Fire Marshal and/or Attorney General upon request. 

 ☐ ASTM E2187-04 

 ☐ Alternate method approved by the Illinois Fire Marshal.  Attach a copy of the Fire Marshal authorization of the 
proposed testing method. 

 

Part 5: Marking Approval 
All cigarettes included in this certification have an approved marking of FSC on each pack, carton and case or other 
packaging at or around the area of the UPC code as required by 425 ILCS 8/40(a). 

 ☐ Copy of Fire Marshal approval dated _________________ is attached. 

 ☐ Manufacturer proposed marking is attached and submitted with this certification. 

The marking complies with 425 ILCS 8/40 (check one): 

 ☐ The marking is in 8-point type. 

 ☐ The point type of the marking is _________________ 

For re-certifications only: 

 ☐ 
A mockup of approved marking and a copy of the OSFM approval are attached.  Do not send actual 
packaging. 

 ☐ A statement that all packs, cartons, cases or other packaging include the approved marking of FSC is attached. 

 
Part 6: Certification Information Provided to Wholesale Dealers and Agents 

As of the date on this certification, the undersigned manufacturer hereby certifies under penalty of perjury that it has 
provided copies of the certification to all Illinois licensed wholesale dealers and agents, as required by 425 ILCS 8/35, as 
well as those who may sell to an Illinois licensed wholesale dealer or agent, to which they sell cigarettes.  The 
undersigned manufacturer further certifies that it has provided sufficient copies of the cigarette package markings to the 
wholesale dealers and agents with the instruction that the copies be provided to all Illinois retail dealers to which they sell 
cigarettes. 

Attach a list of wholesale dealers and agents including the name, address, phone number, contact person, and number 
of package markings to which a copy of the certification and markings were provided.  If the wholesale dealer or agent 
requests an electronic copy rather than paper copies, please note such. 
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Part 7: Designated Contact 
Name Title 

Mailing Address 

City State Zip Code Country 

Phone Fax E-Mail 

 

Part 8: Manufacturer Certification 
Under penalties of perjury, I state that, to the best of my knowledge, all of the information contained in this Certification 
and any attached documents are true and accurate and that I am a person authorized to bind the manufacturer making 
this certification either under the laws of the State of Illinois or of the jurisdiction where the manufacturer resides or is 
organized. I understand that the Fire Marshal may require additional information and/or documentation to determine 
whether the manufacturer qualifies for listing on the Illinois Directory. This document must be signed and dated by an 
authorized notary public. 

   

Authorized Designee (Print Name)  Title 

   

Signature of Authorized Designee  Date 

 
Subscribed and sworn to  
before me this date: 

   

  Signature of Notary Public 

  County   Commission Expires 

 

MAIL TO 
 
Submit the completed certification and other required 
documentation to the State Fire Marshal: 
 

Office of the Illinois State Fire Marshal 
Fire Safe Cigarettes 
1035 Stevenson Drive 
Springfield, IL 62703-4259 

 
And a copy to the Tobacco Enforcement Bureau at this 
address: 
 

Illinois Attorney General 
Tobacco Enforcement Bureau 
500 South Second Street 
Springfield IL 62701 

 

 
 
 

For Additional Forms and Information: 
 
 

Phone: (217) 785-4717 
Fax:  (217) 782-1062 
roger.d.branson@illinois.gov 

 
 
 
 
 

Phone (217) 785-8541 
Fax (217) 524-4701 

 
www.IllinoisAttorneyGeneral.gov 
(Click on Tobacco) 

 

http://www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/
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General Information 

Who must file this Certification? 
Any Participating or Non-Participating Manufacturer whose 
cigarettes were sold in Illinois during the preceding calendar year 
or who intend for their brands to be listed as compliant in the 
Illinois Directory of Compliant NPMs or Directory of Participating 
Manufacturers. If a brand is not listed in this certification, it will not 
be listed in the Directory. 
 
It is unlawful to stamp or offer for sale in the State of Illinois any 
cigarette or RYO brand which is not included in the Illinois 
Directory of Participating Manufacturers or Directory of Compliant 
NPMs. 
 
When is this Certification due? 
The initial Certification was required to be filed with the State Fire 
Marshal, with a copy filed with the Attorney General, no later than 
January 11, 2008. Three year re-certifications must be filed by 
April 30 of each re-certification year thereafter. A manufacturer 
not listed on the Illinois Directory may file a certification form with 
the State Fire Marshal, with a copy filed with the Attorney General 
at any time. 
 
Where do I send my completed Certification? 
Mail this completed Certification (FS-1) and related documents 
to: 

Office of the Illinois State Fire Marshal 
Fire Safe Cigarettes 
1035 Stevenson Drive 
Springfield, IL 62703-4259 

 
With a copy to: 

Office of the Illinois Attorney General 
Tobacco Enforcement Bureau 
500 South Second Street 
Springfield, IL 62701 

 
Specific Instructions 

 
Part 1: Type of Certification 
• Initial certification was due January 11, 2008 
• The fifth three year re-certification is due April 30, 2023. 
• Supplemental certifications must be filed if additional brand 

styles are to be added or removed.  
 
Part 2: Manufacturer Identification 
Provide your company name, address, phone, fax, web address, 
FEIN, and name and title of person completing the form. 
 
Part 3: Brand Family Certification  
• Brand Family: Provide the brand name, which could include 

many brand styles (menthol, 100's, etc.). Do not list each 
style in Part 3. 

• Identify each Brand Family of all cigarettes that the company 
intends to sell in Illinois, either directly or indirectly through 
any distributor, retailer or similar intermediary, and seeks to 
have included in the Directory. 

• A Brands Addendum page is included with the certification 
packet and is available on the Attorney General’s website. 

• Check whether the brand family is currently listed on the 

Directory or if a certification under the Escrow Enforcement Act (30 
ILCS 167 et seq) is pending with the Attorney General. 

• Attach a separate document listing the style, length, 
circumference, flavor, filter/non-filter and package description for 
each brand.  

 
Part 4: Test Method  
• Check the box indicating which test method applies to the brands 

certified.   
• If an alternative method is being used, attach a copy of the Fire 

Marshal’s authorization. 
• Attach test results.  For the initial and supplemental certifications, 

as well as the 3 year re-certifications, test results for EACH brand 
style listed must be the most recent test results dated within 3 
years prior to the date of submittal of the FS-1 and include the 
actual results for each brand style.   

 
Part 5: Marking Approval  
• Prior to the certification of any cigarettes, a manufacturer shall 

present its proposed marking to the State Fire Marshal for 
approval. 

• Attach a copy of Fire Marshal approval or attach the proposed 
marking for approval. 

• Check whether the marking is 8-point type or some other size. 
• For re-certifications, a mockup of approved marking as well as a 

copy of the OSFM approval and a statement that all packs, 
cartons, cases or other packaging include the approved marking 
of FSC.  Please do not send actual packaging. 

 
Part 6: Certification Information Provided to Wholesale 
Dealers and Agents 
• Manufacturers are required to provide a copy of the certification to 

all wholesale dealers and agents to which they sell cigarettes.  
See 425 ILCS 8/35. 

• Wholesale dealer means any person who sells cigarettes or 
tobacco products to retail dealers or other persons for purposes of 
resale as well as a person who owns, operates or maintains one 
or more cigarette or tobacco product vending machines. 

• Agent means any person licensed by the Department of Revenue 
to purchase and affix adhesive or meter stamps to packages of 
cigarettes. 

• Provide information about the wholesale dealers and agents to 
which copies of the cigarette package marking is provided.  If a 
wholesale dealer or agent requests a manufacturer to provide one 
copy of the marking, electronically or otherwise, and desires to 
make copies as needed for its customers, please note such. 

 
Part 7: Designated Contact 
Provide the name, title, address, phone and fax numbers, and e-mail 
address for the individual the Fire Marshal should contact with respect 
to matters relating to this certification. The designated contact is the 
individual who will receive mailings. 
 
Part 8: Manufacturer Certification 
The authorized designee executing the certification must be an officer, 
principal, director or other authorized representative of the 
manufacturer. The authorized designee’s name and title must be 
legibly printed and the signature must be notarized. 

Rev. 03/01/23 


